An online community and resource site for freelancers & work-at-home folks     




Today, a freelance designer posted a stolen website alert on one of the freelance sites on the web. Unfortunately, another web designer has stolen her content and web setup, among other things. What do you think about this incident? Have you experienced this before?

Here’s the notice that she has posted:

I want to notify all freelancers and potential clients of a theft that has occurred.

The owner of the website, http://www.sacredninedesigns.com, has stolen the XHTML, CSS, and Javascript (along with some of the content) that I wrote for my own site, http://www.cressidadesigns.com. If you are in doubt that this was stolen from me, you can find an alt tag for the logo on the links and design services pages that says “CressidaDesigns”.

I e-mailed her notifying her that she had 7 days to remove the site, and that time has passed. Please do not give her business, she is a thief.

Thank you,

Amy Smith

What do you think Amy should do? Your advice would be much appreciated.

Feedback / Comments

3 Responses to “WARNING: A Stolen Website?? Take a look!”

  1. Comment by Amy on August 1st, 2007 2:20 pm

    Thank you for posting this here, I appreciate it.

    -Amy
    http://www.cressidadesigns.com

  2. Comment by Jake Johnson on August 3rd, 2007 8:24 pm

    Amy, you need to contact their hosting service. Using WhoIs service i have figured out they are hosted by CrystalTech Web Hosting, Inc. To contact them simply email support@crystaltech.com or call 1-877-323-HOST (4678). I hope this helps!

  3. Comment by Slung on September 26th, 2008 1:44 pm

    I think I’ve had scripts stolen before, or at least not paid for… My goodness!

Leave a Reply